The Times
  • GIRLS' SOCCER: WAC hands out postseason awards

    • email print
  • ST. JOHNSVILLE, N.Y. — The Western Athletic Conference has handed out its individual hardware following a solid season that saw two of its member schools win Section II titles.
    Jenelle Dillenbeck was named North Division most valuable player after scoring 42 goals and leading Canajoharie to its first sectional title in Class C.
    In the South, Schoharie went unbeaten in the regular season and earned a No. 1 seed for the section’s Class C playoffs; for that, Tammy Drinon and Kevin Scofield were named WAC coaches of the year, Sydney Stanley was named WAC goalkeeper of the year, and defender Lauren Archer shared the South MVP award with Middleburgh scorer Amanda Roney.
    Recognized as all-stars from Canajoharie along with Dillenbeck, a senior striker were junior midfielders Ariannah and Jordyn Logan on the first team — the twins combined for 24 goals and 25 assists — and defenders Brianna Slater, a senior, and Paige Shovelton, a junior, on the second.
    The Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville Wolves ended their maiden season as Class D sectional champions, entering the playoffs as the top seed; St. Johnsville had last won a sectional title 10 years earlier and Oppenheim-Ephratah had gone without a title while competing in Section III. Defenders Hannah Taylor, a sophomore, and Skyler Viveros, a senior, represented Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville on the first team while junior goalkeeper Leann Clark, junior midfielder Rylie Smith and senior striker Jessi Hagadorn were second-team selections.
    Fort Plain’s lone honoree was second-team pick Caitlyn Porter, a sophomore on defense.
    Other first-team selections included Schoharie’s Seana Cleveland, Kaitlyn Kendle and Carolyn Krohn, Middleburgh’s Taylor Cater, Galway’s Erica Chase, Mayfield’s Julie Hampton, Mekeel Christian Academy’s Macie Holmes, Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Delaney Martin, Duanesburg’s Maeve McKeeby, and Northville’s Mary Ryan.
    Jenelle Dillenbeck, Canajoharie
    Lauren Archer, Schoharie
    Amanda Roney, Middleburgh
    Sydney Stanley Schoharie
    Tammy Drinon and Kevin Scofield, Schoharie
    Lauren Archer, jr, D, Schoharie
    Taylor Cater, sr, M, Middleburgh
    Erica Chase, sr, F, Galway
    Seana Cleveland, jr, M, Schoharie
    Jenelle Dillenbeck, sr, F, Canajoharie
    Julie Hampton, so, M, Mayfield
    Macie Holmes, jr, F, Mekeel Christian Academy
    Kaitlyn Kendle, n/a, n/a, Schoharie
    Carolyn Krohn, fr, M, Schoharie
    Ariannah Logan, jr, M, Canajoharie
    Jordyn Logan, jr, M, Canajoharie
    Delaney Martin, sr, F, Berne-Knox-Westerlo
    Maeve McKeeby, jr, M, Duanesburg
    Amanda Roney, sr, F, Middleburgh
    Mary Ryan, sr, M, Northville
    Hannah Taylor, so, D, Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville
    Skyler Viveros, sr, D, Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville
    Page 2 of 2 - SECOND-TEAM ALL-STARS
    Nicole Cassale, so, GK, Duanesburg
    Leann Clark, jr, GK, Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville
    Emily Cromie, so, D, Mayfield
    Jessica Hagadorn, sr, F, Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville
    Aleesha LeRuzic, so, D, Middleburgh
    Lindsay McCarty, sr, M, Mekeel Christian Academy
    McKenzie Phelan, so, F, Schoharie
    Nicole Pigliavento, jr, D, Mekeel Christian Academy
    Caitlyn Porter, so, D, Fort Plain
    Carley Ryan, jr, M, Middleburgh
    Paige Shovelton, jr, D, Canajoharie
    Brianna Slater, sr, D, Canajoharie
    Rylie Smith, jr, M, Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville
    Felicia Snyder, sr, M, Galway
    Sydney Stanley, sr, GK, Schoharie
    Kailee VanGasbeck, sr, D, Schoharie
    Lyndsey Wadsworth, sr, M, Northville
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar